top of page
  • Hoste Hainse

Irina's Blog0003: Best Things

Updated: Aug 1, 2020

Irina Gressog April 12, 2017; Wednesday 18:00 NST (Nepal Standard Time)


When Martin and I arrived in Kathmandu we already had done some research but still had some difficulties to get an overview on where to go, what and where to eat and how to get from A to B. Even though we love Nepali food, after 1 month India and a couple of weeks in Nepal we were seeking for some western food. Who can blame us for this? :)

Tastes are different and everybody needs to decide for him/herself what to eat and to do in Nepal. Depending on the time you have, Nepal has so much to offer, that you will end up in leisure stress for sure.



Even though we got a lot of help with our sightseeing plans, we wished we would have found an overview of sightseeing spots and restaurants of former volunteers just to get an idea what they liked and where they spent their free time. Because next to volunteering at Hoste Hainse it is also about to explore Nepal and have some fun beside the office days. ;)

Therefore I just started to make a list (please see below) with places we liked, and I hope it will help you to orient yourself and to make your own travel plans. Most of the spots mentioned we have visited ourselves and I can highly recommend them. However, we didn't manage to see everything and some of the recommendations are recommendations from other travelers. And I am sure there are far more things to do. :)


Sightseeing Spots (around Kathmandu)

  • Swayambhunath

  • Boudhanath Stupa

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square

  • Bhakapur Durbar Squaret

  • Patan Durbar Square

  • Thamel

  • Pashupatinath Temple

  • Budhanilkantha, the holy site of the sleeping Hindu god Vishnu

  • Shivapuri National Park

Treks (all over Nepal)

  • Annapurna Base Camp + Poon Hill

  • Annapurna Circuit

  • Manaslu

  • Everest Base Camp

  • Langtang

  • Gosainkund

Restaurants

You are vegetarian? No worries! A lot of people in Nepal are vegetarian and there are a lot of awesome vegetarian dishes. Even though I love eating meat, I really liked the vegetarian food and surprisingly, I started being a vegetarian while I was in Nepal!


Kathmandu (Patan, Jhamsikhel, Thamel)

  • The Village Cafe, Newari Food (http://sabahnp.org/the-village-cafe)

  • QFX Cinemas (http://www.qfxcinemas.com/Content/QFX-Labim-Mall?me=18)

  • Cafe Soma (http://www.facebook.com/cafesoma/)

  • The Workshop Eatery, Burrito + Burger (http://www.facebook.com/theworkshopeatery55/)

  • Dhokaima Cafe (http://www.facebook.com/dhokaima/?rf=125132040897861)

  • Hermann Helmers Bakery (http://www.facebook.com/hbakery/)

  • Roadhouse Cafe, Pizza (http://www.facebook.com/RoadhouseCafeJhamsikhel/)

  • Vesper Cafe & Restaurant, Pizza + Wine (http://sss.vespercafe.com/)

  • Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop (http://www.facebook.com/rosemarykitchenrestaurant/)

  • Himalayan Java Coffee (http://www.himalayanjava.com/)

Pokhara

  • Cafe Concerto, Pizza + Pasta + Wine (http://www.facebook.com/italianINpokhara/)

  • Buzz, Burger (http://www.facebook.com/buzznepal/)

  • Potala Tibetan Restaurant (http://www.lonelyplanet.com/nepal/pokhara/restaurants/potala-tibetan-restaurant/a/poi-eat/1506219/1327551)

  • Bamboo Cafe and Restaurant Lakeside

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page